The workers’ compensation programme in Virginia pays benefits to an employee’s surviving family members if the employee passes away as a result of an injury or illness sustained on the job. You may be eligible to receive death payments under the workers’ compensation programme if a loved one of yours dies away as a result of a sickness or injury sustained at work. Discuss your possibilities with Richmond workers’ comp lawyer.
In a case involving workers’ compensation, what kinds of death benefits are there to choose from?
According to the provisions of Virginia’s workers’ compensation law, the following are examples of benefits that may be paid out in the case of the death of an employee as a result of a work-related accident or occupational illness:
- Funeral expenditures and burial expenses
- Help with the expenditures of the worker’s transportation who has passed away
- Payments of a monetary nature made to the surviving dependents of the dead worker.
- The payments provided to surviving dependents are equivalent to two-thirds of the dead worker’s average weekly earnings. This figure is determined by taking into account the worker’s final 52 weeks of pay before the date of accident. On the other hand, the financial benefits are limited to a limit of one hundred percent of the standard weekly wage in the Commonwealth of Virginia. In addition, monetary payments made under the workers’ compensation death benefits must amount to at least 25 percent of the state’s typical weekly earnings.
Beyond the date of the injury, surviving spouses and certain children are eligible to receive financial assistance for up to 500 weeks after that date.
Workers who die without leaving a spouse or children can be financially assisted by their surviving parents if they live in poverty. Other surviving members of the worker’s family who were wholly dependent on the worker on the date of the injury may also be eligible to receive cash assistance for a period of four hundred weeks from the DUI.
A worker who has no completely dependent family members may receive cash benefits for 400 weeks if they had partially dependent family members.
The monetary benefit payment is split in half and given to each remaining family member qualified to claim it.